Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-14-2003, 01:07 PM   #1
bassrebel
ok i dunno

Send a message via ICQ to bassrebel Send a message via AIM to bassrebel Send a message via MSN to bassrebel Send a message via Yahoo to bassrebel
4:10 Differential Question...

Hey All...

This is my first time here...

I have a 1987 BMW wit 106k miles on it.

I was talking to some friend who's studying to be a mechanic.

I heard about installing a 4:10 differential.

He told me that a differential from a Toyota 1.8 maybe will fit.

Is that true? Do I have to make any mods when installing it?

Have a nice day,

Danny T. Gonzalez
Attached Images
File Type: jpg post-16-1068693301.jpg (49.7 KB, 221 views)
bassrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 01:21 PM   #2
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator

A 4.10 in your car would render it useless. You'd constantly be WAY over the powerband, and your top speed would be hilarious.

Try something a lot lower.

@stancejay
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2003, 01:27 PM   #3
bassrebel
ok i dunno

Send a message via ICQ to bassrebel Send a message via AIM to bassrebel Send a message via MSN to bassrebel Send a message via Yahoo to bassrebel
what do you suggest me?

Danny
Old 11-14-2003, 01:43 PM   #4
Mystikal