Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2011, 09:26 AM   #1
dcramer
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orangeville
Posts: 1,124
RSM reinforcement plates

I just saw a picture of someone who mounted the plates on the top (inside the trunk) I mounted mine underneath the car, however I'm starting to think they should be mounted inside the trunk since there is already a heavy plate ( the RSM itself) underneath.

Where should they be ?
dcramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 09:43 AM   #2
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,390
It should be on top, it does nothing on the bottom, it's purpose is to spread the load of the nuts you have bolted on the top which only have a small amount of surface area, therefore the metal is more likely to tear. With the plates on the top, the load from the nuts are spread across a larger area reducing the chance that it will tear the metal.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 09:44 AM   #3
dcramer
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orangeville
Posts: 1,124
So now I see the point of the Rogue Engineering plates, much nicer to change your shocks

Thanks
dcramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:09 AM   #4
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcramer View Post
So now I see the point of the Rogue Engineering plates, much nicer to change your shocks

Thanks
Yes. but it also requires you to have Rogue Engineering RSMs or to remove the studs on the RSMs you have.

Goodluck dealing with Rogue, they are a pain in the ass when it comes to international orders, they want a wire transfer, and shipping is ridiculous. $40 for RSMs worth $99. Stupid practices like that, don't get my money.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:11 AM   #5
dcramer
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orangeville
Posts: 1,124
Well I wasn't about to change them, and as long as you don't drive in the winter it would be fine. Thanks for the heads up about Rogue though
dcramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.