Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Closed Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 08:26 PM   #1
Gmas
2nd Gear Member

Issue with Mechanic - Actual $ Much Higher Than Quote

So I have a bit of an issue and thought I'd get others opinions.

I took my E30 in to have some routine maintenance done along with a few other issues that needed to be addressed. Now I'm not a super mechanical guy - I mentioned a few specific items I wanted done, but also asked him to let me know if he came across anything else that needed to be fixed.

His initial estimate he gave me was $2-3K - a wide range because it's an older car and obviously there can be issues that crop up once you get going. I told him I was fine with that and left the car with him for a couple days. Obviously I was hoping it would be towards the lower end of that range, but I'd be okay if it crept toward $3K. When he called and said it was done, the final amount he gives me is about $4200. I was quite upset when he told me this as had I known it was going to be that high I would have seriously debated even doing the work.

Do I have any options at this point? I mean the work is done now.

Thanks for any opinions or advice on this.

Old 05-09-2011, 08:36 PM   #2
Red_Rocket
2nd Gear Member