Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 07:45 PM   #1
Steven325e
2nd Gear Member
 
Steven325e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 95
E36 Amp Bypass/delete

So I've been doing some searching, and all the answers I found were pretty convoluted. I have an aftermarket JVC deck in my E36, with stock amp (in the rear fender) and speakers.

My understanding is that the wiring is as per below:
JVC Deck -- (High level output) --> stock amp --> speakers

I would like to bypass and remove the stock amp, and connect the speakers directly to the deck using the existing stock wiring.

If I were to just splice the high level output from the deck, using the exisiting stock wiring, to the wires that come out of the amp to the speakers, I should be able to completely bypass the amp right? Is this possible or am I missing something?
__________________
CURRENT: 2005 Mazda 3 Sport GS - Black Mica | 1998 BMW 328i - Montrealblau-metallic
GONE: 1992 Mazda Miata - Classic Red | 1986 BMW 325e - Burgundrot-Metallic
Steven325e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:32 PM   #2
TSI
Reverse Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oakville
Posts: 807
Depends if the deck has its own integrated amp. Otherwise you'll get almost no sound...
TSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 07:59 PM   #3
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,716
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
yes, you can remove your stock amp and bypass it. this will sound like shit if you have a standard amp that delivers ~50wrms per channel
__________________
d1s bulb canada

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
hid headlights hid kit
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.